Ancestry Choices - Undead

Hello,
I am currently crafting a small scenario for my friends and one of them asked me to play an undead (Underborne Undead Sorcerer).

He described his character as a human soul that was forcefully dragued out of his eternal slumber to be enslaved, but who managed to escape. He now roams the world, trying to make the most out of this new “life” and trying to prevent others from suffering the same fate.

We agreed to not change the “death move” rules, as he can still be destroy. My question is about his ancestry.
I created a special ancestry for him : ills omens - Whenever you should make an action roll with disavantage, you may negates this disavantage, but you must use a d20 instead of a d12 as your Fear die.

I’m not good at balancing game mechanics, so i would like other peoples opinions or suggestions on this matter.
Should i just use his “before death” ancestry (Human) ? What kind of bug might this ancestry creates ?
What would you have done ?
Thank you

(I apologize if i made any translation mistakes, as I am a French player)

1 Like

Far from an expert myself on balance I do have an easy suggestion. A reskinned Daemon with its dead visage and fearless abilities would seem an simple choice.

Agree with this as a simple solution, reskinning something existing is always likely to be best for balance.

When homebrewing, I’d recommend not messing with the core rules. Swapping the Fear die to a d20 increases the likelihood the roll resolves with Fear, but also allows a roll that was previously with disadvantage to potentially succeed with 32 + modifiers.