New comers to Vampire the masquerade

My sister and Brother in law have expressed interest in playing Vampire the masquerade to me. while I know alot about the game and lore I don’t know how to introduce them to the lore. They have played similar games like D&D and Avatar.

1 Like

The official Wiki for V5 has a lot of lore collected from the various source books and other canon data sources. But probably the best introduction is just reading the core book, as-is, cover to cover. There’s a LOT of lore woven through the rules.

2 Likes

I would love to finger out how to play as well. Played DND and vampires the masquerade a lot about 20 years ago. Just not on a pc and I am very new to this.

1 Like

I second this. The V5 core rulebook is excellent for conveying lore, in that it presents a view of the setting’s history, atmosphere and mythology without getting lost in the weeds.

For newcomers to the lore, I recommend starting from the “lexicon of the damned” in the core rulebook. It’s just a list of in-setting expressions (like kindred, masquerade, blood doll, etc), but It’ll give you a sense of how vampires in this setting view the world and their role in it and it makes an excellent primer before you’re ready to sink your teeth in. Pun unintended… but I’m not apologizing for it :joy:

2 Likes

Personally, I learn best by being walked through how to do something, and walked through the lore as well (able to ask questions as we go). Like your sister and brother in law, I am a newcomer to Vampire the Masquerade, and hope to find someone who will teach me.

1 Like