Rogue and Warrior classes Hope features should be able to be stacked multiple times however they are working only as an on and off toggle.
Can you give me an example of which features these are? I’m still learning Daggerheart and want to make sure I get folks to look at the right thing!
Edit: Nevermind, I see the Hope Features for those classes. I don’t however see anything saying they should be able to stack multiple times. The Rogue one looks to be specific to once per short rest and the Warrior one appears to last until your next rest.
It was mentioned on reddit by designers to be intended to stack. Also there is a rule in page 107 that says most things should stack.
Here is the thread with Spenser Starke’s response.
https://www.reddit.com/r/daggerheart/comments/1l7t85s/hope_features_stacking/
SIMULTANEOUS AND STACKING EFFECTS If two or more effects can apply to a situation, and the rules don’t tell you which order to apply them in, the player controlling the effects (including the GM) can apply the effects in any order. For example, if one ability lets you spend a Hope to retaliate after an attack, and another ability lets you gain a Hope when you mark a Hit Point, you can decide to gain the Hope first, then spend it to make the attack. Similarly, if you have multiple moves that can trigger in a situation (such as two moves that occur “after a successful attack”), you can use them together and choose in which order to activate them. If you want to apply two or more effects, they must both be able to successfully resolve to be used together. Otherwise, you must choose which one applies. For example, if you can clear a Stress every time you roll with Fear, and you have an ability that lets you make a roll with Fear into a roll with Hope, you can’t clear a Stress and then change the roll to be with Hope instead of Fear. As always, if there’s any uncertainty, the GM arbitrates how effects apply. SPENDING RESOURCES If a rule tells you to spend a resource, you lose that resource once you spend it. For example, when you spend a Hope on an ability, you clear a Hope that you’ve marked on your character sheet. Similarly, if a bard gives you a Rally Die, when you choose to spend it and add its result to your roll, you lose that die and return it to the other player. Unless an effect states otherwise, you can’t spend Hope or mark Stress multiple times on the same feature to increase or repeat its effects on the same roll. For example, if a feature says you can “spend a Hope to add 1d6 to the damage roll,” you can’t spend 2 Hope and add 2d6 instead. If a feature says “mark a Stress to gain a +3 bonus to your Spellcast Roll,” you can’t mark 2 Stress and gain a +6 bonus. However, on an effect like the Guardian’s Hope Feature, which says “Spend 3 Hope to clear 2 Armor Slots,” you can spend 6 Hope to clear 4 Armor Slots, because this effect isn’t applying its bonus to a specific roll—you’re just activating the feature more than once. USING FEATURES AFTER A ROLL Some features let you affect a roll after the result has been totaled—such as the seraph’s “Prayer Dice,” the faerie’s “Wings,” or the Grace domain’s “Endless Charisma.” In this case, you use it after the GM declares if the roll succeeds or fails, but before the narrative consequences unfold (such as damage being rolled) or another dice roll is made. At the GM’s discretion, most effects can stack. For example, if two bards give you a Rally Die, you can spend both of them on the same roll. However, you can’t stack conditions, advantage or disadvantage, or other effects that say you can’t.
Thanks for all of that extra information. We’ll need to look into this a bit further on our end but I’ll get it in front of the right folks!
Thanks, looking forward to hearing back from you about it!
Per the section of the rule book you quoted the warriors hope feature should not stack with itself
You can’t spend Hope or mark Stress multiple times on the same feature to increase or repeat its effects on the same roll. For example, if a feature says you can “spend a Hope to add 1d6 to the damage roll,” you can’t spend 2 Hope and add 2d6 instead. If a feature says “mark a Stress to gain a +3 bonus to your Spellcast Roll,” you can’t mark 2 Stress and gain a +6 bonus
That part of text is for things like Ruthless Predator feature of Wayfinder Ranger where it affects a single roll. Hope feature of Warrior does not apply to a single roll but to all rolls until you rest. It is also clarified by Spenser Starke to work like this as intended. You can check the link I posted earlier in the thread.